Hello!


I am Alejandro Souto and I am currently studying Law and Political Science. This is an online, up-to-date and summarized version of my résumé. Here you will find some information about me and what I do, as well as some ways to get in touch with me.

Academic background


I am currently studying a Double Bachelor's in Law and Political Science at Universidad Complutense de Madrid (Spain). As a part of my education in Political Science, I did an exchange program at the Utrecht University (Netherlands), where I learned about policy implementation, EU lobby and global civil society organizations. I am now on an exchange program at the University of Manchester (United Kingdom), also in the field of Political Science, but this time the focus will be on political communication and international security. I have had the opportunity to study exactly what I like in all those cases and, overall, my education has given me a better understanding of today's global challenges and the necessary tools to address them.

Soft skills


Most of the learning process takes place outside of the classroom, and this is especially true when it comes to soft skills. Since I was a teenager, I have been engaging in a wide range of different activities. That has allowed me to learn those things that you cannot learn from textbooks. Representing thousands of students as a regional student representative and working in the drafting of legislative proposals has taught me personal accountability and effective communication. But other little things, like reaching consensus to sponsor a resolution during a Model of United Nations or participating in a grassroots campaign for climate justice has taught me the importance of project management, negotiation and teamwork.

Tech skills


Some tech skills are so fundamental to our everyday life that you just need them to work, study, think and communicate. But apart from word-processing, spreadsheets and social media, I am increasingly interested in data analysis. I have learned to use SPSS and I am just starting to learn R programming. Additionally, I am currently learning data visualization with Tableau and during my last exchange programme I learned how to use NVivo for qualitative data analysis.

Other info


You might want to know other facts about me. I am 22 years old, I am Spanish and I live in Madrid. I speak Spanish (native) and English (Cambridge C2). And my main interests are public policy, international relations and political communication. Want to know something else? Scroll down to see the contact info.

Contact


If you are running a project (or planning to do so) and you think I can be useful there, or if you think I would match with your company or organization, get in touch so we can talk about it. You can send me an e-mail or contact me through Twitter or LinkedIn.

© 2019. All rights reserved.